there if no charge for awefomeness

Standard

Awefomeness #1: Whale watching in Boston. Pretty damn great. Watching the mother and baby whale play in the waters of the Stellwagen Bank is a little unbelievable – a sight not to be missed. The staff goes on about facts and figures and yada yada yada, but the actual sight is almost…surreal. As we approached, the baby actually breached completely, in addition to all the tail-and-fin-slapping. Something pretty rare, apparently. I would describe it, but words don’t do enough justice – and I don’t have good enough photos to make up the requisite thousand words. I can steal from a different set of photos from the time though – thanks to Gerry.

Awefomeness #2: The missus. Coming fresh off a weekend with her, it was a very close call to beat whale watching 😛

KamineyAwefomeness #3: Kaminey. Think Pulp Fiction, Lock Stock and Manmohan Desai all rolled into one. Think about attention to detail (‘Dhan ta naa’ actually has one guy singing with and one guy singing without a lisp). Think the use of ‘Fatak!’. Think about making your characters so lovingly detailed that the hero gets sidelined. Think about the pure adrenaline rush of a movie perfectly executed, and living up to every expectation you had of it. ‘Aife aife log kaife kaife ho gaye..

Awefomeness #4: Old friends. There is a comfort and a feeling there that is hard to replicate elsewhere. Even just talking about random crap. These are people I have known for nearly 10 years now, and the effect is starting to really show. There was a line that Raghu once quoted to me (indirectly) as something he wished he could have carried off while I was around. I can feel it more now than ever before..

Awefomeness #5: Boltbus. No other for me, ever. Wifi + plug-points = Insane time-pass. Massive catch-up on Google Reader. And other reading too. Vague memories of the cramped UK bus trips (and the few Chinatown buses) are banished as I luxuriated in being able to stretch my own legs freely while sitting. While sitting. Bliss.

Awefomeness #6: Coke Studio. A musical Independence Day celebration for Pakistan via Coke – where is India’s? Both seasons online – video +audio – and completely free and legal to download/watch/listen! Artistes including Rahat Fateh, Ali Azmat, Strings… in what can only be termed as jamming to their best tunes. Classy, very classy.

Awefomeness #7: I’m actually learning to take photos. At least I think so (the missus does too – but I tell her she’s biased). I can tell about settings a lot more intuitively. And I truly only feel able to take photos with a camera like mine now – trying out a simpler camera in India was hell. Score.

 

8 thoughts on “there if no charge for awefomeness

  1. Wow, seems like you had a great time! Whale watching is something I definitely want to do.

    I have never heard of a bolt bus before…sounds exciting, will look into it.

    I am curious to see the missus! 😀

  2. Galadriel

    You should have cropped out some of the sky above the sun in this photo – it will look better composed and a lot more symmetrical. It will also draw attention to the sun and the tail fin.

    Also, you have gotten the hang of taking better focused pictures, I think you are ready for an SLR. 🙂

    Whale watching beats a weekend with me? Hmph!

  3. SEV

    @Vi: You should totally check out whale watching! Boltbus is merely a bus service between cities, in this case Boston NY 🙂 Nothing exciting to it – just beats the usual monotony of a bus trip very drastically.
    @G: I tried that crop, it was getting to be too small in that case. Actually, I should make an addendum. Whale watching with you + a sunset trumps EVERYTHING 🙂
    Oh, and Vi meet G (the missus). G, meet Vi. Off you go!

  4. kanchan

    Lovely pics.
    1) And to think I didn’t go when I visited Boston. 😦
    3) Kaminey. Ah. Love THE song. But dude… the song does not have a lisp.
    4) You know what? I was talking about just that to a friend a couple of days back… that we now know our college friends for almost a decade. Whoa!

    And where is that, no, where are those weekly posts you have been threatening us with?

  5. SEV

    @Kanchan: Listen closely. There is. Its choreographed in that manner as well – Charlie has no lines in the song that have an ‘S’ in them. The weekly posts.. umm.. I’ve actually managed to fill up twice a week with random posts.. so.. lets say I’m still working on it 😛

  6. Good pics dude. I disagree with your missus on the second pic – the focus is the sun, and that is shown better in a sky dominated background rather than a water dominated background. With too much water, the focus is diverted away from the sun. This way, the picture emphasises the vast expanse of emptiness, which serves as a neat counterpoint to the sun. Plus, even if it is clichéd, thirds rule works better than seconds rule.

Leave a Reply

