bibliophilically speaking..

Standard

Stolen from here, Yes. I was intrigued enough to steal. And patient enough to fill it out. And you’re bored enough to read it. We’re all just so happy.

1. Favourite childhood book?
Somewhere between Mallory Towers and The Complete Sherlock Holmes, I think. I miss the former. I wonder if my local library has it.

2. What are you reading right now?
Friday Night Lights by H.G.Bissinger. Fables by Willingham et al.

3. Bad book habit?
Whaddaya mean, ‘bad‘?
I really don’t know what that means in the context of books. You mean, like do I indulge in Mills & Boon (ugh)? Assuming you actually find such books readable.. why would that be a bad thing, again?

4. Do you prefer to read one book at a time or several at once?
Its usually a single text-based book and a single graphic novel. I’ve tried multiple books. Fun to expect random characters in random books.

5. Favorite book you’ve read this year?
Ugh, I hate playing favorites.. even with books. Especially considering I went through most of the Foundation series, The Longest Day, A Long Way Gone and The Sandman within this year (among others). Real hard to pick one, y’know?

6. Favorite place to read?
The bus/train (commuting in general, I guess). ‘Til date, the one place I can always count on reading uninterruptedly. Plus of course, the walk to the bus stop. That takes some doing.

7. What is your policy on book lending?
I’m probably going to borrow more from you than vice versa, so go ahead.. with emphasis on the word ‘borrow‘.

8. What is your favorite language to read in?
English is the only language I really read in. I remember struggling through a 100 pages of a Premchand classic in school. It took a few months, the first couple of weeks in which I actually finished the complete works of James Herriot.

9. What makes you love a book?
Writing which elicits a spark in your brain where you know in the presence of sheer prosaic, immortal beauty.
Clearly, Dan Brown would cause the complete opposite effect.

10. Favorite genre?
I used to say I prefer fiction, with an inclination for short-story fiction. That doesn’t hold — I pretty much read anything I get my hands on today.

11. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did?)
Ah-ha, this is more involved. There are genres I don’t read, but in most cases I don’t want to read them (e.g. Mills and Boon). Off the top of my head history (if thats a genre) seems like something I don’t indulge in enough — I never finished all the John Keegan that someone once lent me. On a related note, historical fiction (such as Master and Commander), which I was reminded of while reading the Genghis series.

12. Favorite biography?
Assuming autobiographies count, the latest was A Long Way Gone. A stand-out one from memory is The Man Who Knew Infinity.

13. Have you ever read a self-help book?
Yes. The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari, The Alchemeist and Jonathan Livingston Seagull. Bleargh, about sums it up.

14. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year (fiction or non-fiction)?
To an extent, A Long Way Gone. I’m going to leave it there, analyzing this question in my head (yes, I actually analyzed it) is leading to too many possible answers.

15. Favorite reading snack?
Nothing. I hate leaving stains on a book.

16. A case in which hype ruined your reading experience?
May I Hebb Your Attention Pliss. Given that its by one of the funniest and most topical indi-bloggers today, I went in expecting good stuff. What I got were rehashed blog posts. There is a difference.

17. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you chose?
French, to read Dumas in the language he wrote in.

18. Most intimidating book you’ve ever read?
The only time I felt as though I might have borrowed a book too big to finish was when I took up the complete works of James Herriot, a 1000+ page tome from my school library.. bang in the middle of my 10th grade. I finished it pretty damn fast. I can’t think of anything since.

19. Most intimidating book you’re too nervous to begin?
I don’t understand the question.

20. Favorite Poet?
It varies a great deal.. moreso because I’m not a huge fan of poetry. Off the top of my head, Tennyson.

21. Favorite fictional character?
Holmes. Period.
(others have been listed here)

22. Favorite fictional villain?
Moriarty. Big surprise.

23. Books I’m most likely to bring on vacation?
Wodehouse (though right now, I’d probably just bring along a Kindle and have my pick of authors to choose from).

24. The longest I’ve gone without reading?
I don’t understand the question.

25. Name a book that you could/would not finish?
I don’t understand the question.
This is getting old.

26. What distracts you easily when you’re reading?
Nothing. I’ve read on ST buses, on trains, while walking to the bus stop, while sitting in class solving math problems (much to the chagrin of the teacher). Nothing.

27. Favorite film adaptation of a novel?
The Lord of the Rings ranks right up there with the best of the best. For a bonus, Harry Potter ranks down there with the worst of the worst (except HP3, that was just beautifully done).
There are lots of others, including the Nolan adaptations of Batman. And Dev D.

28. Most disappointing film adaptation?
Long answer: Harry Potter movies have pretty damn disappointing, with a complete lack of distilling the important details into any of the movies (save HP3).
I also expected great things from The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy. That was just a poorly thought-out mess. Others exist, I just don’t have the patience to go through them all right now.

29. Do you like to keep your books organized?
Sort of. I like them to be stacked on shelves, the ordering pretty much hinges on what is going on in my head at that moment.
As a general rule of thumb, I also prefer keeping them according to author, rather than type.

30. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once you’ve read them?
Keep. KEEP. KEEP.
You dare try taking/giving away my books when I’m not around. Even worse, you dare not think of me when you’re getting rid of books (*shudder*) and actually (sob!) dump them somewhere. You, sir, are a cad who doesn’t deserve to live.

31. A book that made you angry?
To some extent The White Tiger, for some pretentiousness that crept in in the latter half of the book (want to win a literary prize, much?). For sheer bad writing, plotting, characters, plot devices, dialogue, story.. in short, for completely destroying everything that makes a book readable — The Lost Symbol.

32. A book you didn’t expect to like but did?
The Lost World. After the masala-mess that was Jurassic Park (where the movie was way better than the book), I really did not expect to enjoy the sequel very much. But hell, it was written much better, and got me deeply interested in chaos theory. Crichton at his best. Plus I got an original secondhand version (i.e. not pirated) for Rs. 10 wonly. Score!

33. A book that you expected to like but didn’t?
May I Hebb Your Attention Pliss. As I said, blog-posts do not a book make.

34. Do you ever write in the margins of a book while you were reading?
No. That’s what sticky notes and writing pads are for.

35. What’s the most you have spent in a bookstore?
A few grand over 2 days in Chennai between Higginbothams and Landmark. It was a trip I made alone just to go to bookstores all day. Some long-lost family friends in Chennai were happy to put me up so I could conveniently go crazy book shopping, with no-one coming over to tell me it had been 4, no wait, 5 hours since we got to the book store.. and could we please get done now?
One of the best trips. Ever.

36. Favorite guilt-free, pleasure reading?
Graphic novels/comic books. I rediscovered them after a 10-year hiatus (where the best I could do was Tinkle). I don’t plan for such hiatus to happen again. Ever.

5 thoughts on “bibliophilically speaking..

Leave a Reply

